Things I am learning

I am re-learning what it is to have a puppy in the house.
I am learning what things I am and am not capable of as a trainer.
I am learning I am much more capable than I dared hope at raising and training a puppy.
I am learning that I still have limits, and what they are.
I am learning more about my commitments and priorities.
I am learning more about what Davy and I can do when we work together.
I am learning more about the dynamics of my own household.
I am learning about our needs and wants from a dog, about who would and would not fit into our lives here.
I am learning the reasons Eppy’s presence helped so much with my anxiety symptoms.
I am learning the effect on one’s mealtime experience when one has forgotten to wash one’s hands and they smell of rubber and kibble.
I am learning that everybody deals with life in general much better on a full stomach.
I am learning that perfection is less important in puppy-rearing than that little sigh before he settles down to sleep.

The journey continues.

zzz

3 responses to “Things I am learning

  1. Sounds like you’re doing a great job with Baxter!

    I’ve learned a lot from raising Lola, too. For my next pup, whenever that will be, there will be so many different things I’ll do – and just a couple that will be the same. 🙂

  2. Oh, and I forgot to add — there’s a blog award waiting for you over at my blog!

    http://courtoftails.blogspot.com/2011/06/that-friday-feelin.html

  3. Thanks for all the kind words and the vote of confidence. I made a new post for our shiny award! 😉

Leave a Reply

